Skip to Main Content

Albert Nelson Student Success Center: KWU Memorial Library Home

Quick Links

Search for items currently held by KWU Memorial Library

https://kwu.bywatersolutions.com

Summer 24 Library Hours

Monday, April 29, 2024 to Friday, July 26, 2024

Sunday CLOSED
Monday - Thursday 7:30A - 5:30P

Friday
 CLOSED
Saturday CLOSED

Spring 24 FINALS Library Hours

Beginning Monday, April 29, 2024

Monday - Thursday  7:45A - 11:00P 
Friday 7:45A - 9:00P
Saturday CLOSED
Sunday 5:00P - 11:00P

Thurs & Fri, May 9 & 10 7:45A - 5:00P

 

CLOSED

5/27 Memorial Day

7/4 Independence Day

9/2  Labor Day

11/27 - 11/29  Thanksgiving Break

12/23 - 1/2/2025  Christmas Break

 

 

Off-Campus Help

Virtual assistance:

Monitored during regular library hours

Phone:  785-833-4393

Text:  785-227-7351

Email:  library@kwu.edu

Quick Links to Resources

Flipster

Browse the full collection of magazine titles

Search for books, DVDs, & more:

https://kwu.bywatersolutions.com

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, ETC.

STREAMING VIDEOS

VIEWPOINTS / PROS & CONS

SPANISH LANGUAGE RESOURCES

To access databases from off-campus:

When prompted, use your KWU userid (the first part of your KWU email, such as john.doe) and your email password. This is not the same as your MyKWU log in, and may not be the same as your Canvas login.  

We suggest using the General Databases (listed above in the "Articles-General Databases" tab) first and then moving on to the appropriate Research Guide to find the best databases and websites to use for your specific topic. Choose a guide related to the course or the topic you are researching.

Online citation help is also still available (as below).

Other e-Books & online content
 
JSTOR
JSTOR has a large amount of open source academic content that is always available, including journal articles and book chapters.
 

Help is available! Don’t hesitate to ask a question or discuss a research problem with the librarians. We love questions!

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books, articles, movies, sheet music, etc., that we don't have at KWU.
Fill out the
 Request Form.

The Kansas Library Catalog is an online catalog containing books, magazines/journal articles, videos, audiocassettes, and microforms available from the public, school, and academic libraries across Kansas.

Through the OCLC/WorldCat system, it is possible to borrow books, magazines/journal articles, videos, audiocassettes, and microforms from across the United States.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Please allow 1-2 weeks for an interlibrary loan item. We will notify you when it arrives. We reserve the right to charge a fine of $1/day for an overdue interlibrary loan item.  Users are responsible for the replacement costs of any lost/damaged item.

We are not able to process student requests for current textbooks or required course materials.

• For more information or questions, please contact (785-833-4395 / library@kwu.edu).

More Library Resources

More policies are available at Memorial Library--FAQ and Policies.
Beverages and small snacks are allowed in the library.

Students:
Book Checkout--28 days, can renew most books
DVDs: 1 week, can renew
Reserves: Varies from 2 hours to 1 week
No overdue fines, but will be charged to replace lost items

Faculty:
Book Checkout--1 year
DVDs: 1 week, can renew
No overdue fines; replacement costs vary

Interlibrary Loan:
Checkout for books is generally 3-4 weeks, but check the ILL sleeve for the exact due date. Overdue fines may be $1/day.

Use a Research Guide geared toward your topic.

Videos from our  database vendors:

EBSCO databases
LexisNexis Video Tutorial
CQ Researcher Video Tutorial
ProQuest video

 

Make the most of your online courses by using our online library resources and help services!

Access: Your KWU userid and password (the first part of your KWU email, such as john.doe, and your email password) give you access to all of the online research materials at Memorial Library.

Use the Guides to find the best databases and websites to use. Choose a guide related to the course or the topic you are researching.

Use the databases to find articles.

Use the catalog to find print books, ebooks, and DVDs. Ebooks are electronic books available online with your KWU access.

Request Print Materials: Print Materials are also available to you as an online learner. If you live more than 30 miles from the KWU campus, we are happy to mail you any print sources, such as books and DVDs. Request print materials by emailing us at library@kwu.edu. Send us your mailing address and as much information as you can about the book or DVD: title, authors or actors, year published or produced, publisher or production company, and which course you need it for.

Online Help is available! Don’t hesitate to ask a question or discuss a research problem with the librarians. We love questions!

  • Video Tutorials: Click here.
  • Phone, text, email, chat are all available (see "Off-campus help" box at the top of left column)

Online students are always welcome in our physical library, too. Come and use our facility whenever you can. Find Memorial Library on the campus map.

All community members are welcome at Kansas Wesleyan University. To check out material you will be issued a library card from Memorial Library.

Guests who want to use computers or to study at Memorial Library on a regular basis are required to follow the rules and policies set by the Director of the Library. Please register at the circulation desk to sign the guest user agreement on your first visit.

Memorial Memo

Catch up on all the library news with past and present issues of The Memorial Memo, the library's monthly newsletter!

Library Jobs

Applications for Library Assistants are accepted year-round, but most positions are filled at the beginning of each semester (Fall & Spring).  All applicants must qualify for Federal Work Study.

What's Happening Out There?

Frequently Asked Questions