Skip to main content

Memorial Library -- FAQ and Policies

Library Policies and FAQ

Checkout Periods for Students:
Books -- 28 days
DVDs -- 1 week
Reserve materials -- depends on book/DVD, possibly 2 hours or 1 day
Journals, reference books, magazines -- non-circulating

Other items for checkout by students:
Headphones (in library only)
Flashdrives (in library only)
Chromebook laptops (overnight checkout)
Basic calculators (3 day checkout)

Printing
Black and white printing is free for students, but please be economical. Preview your prints and ask for help.

Food and Drink
Beverages are allowed in closed containers. Small snacks are fine, too, but clean up after yourself!

Logins
From off-campus or when using the wifi, you'll be ask to log into library databases through a proxy server. The login is the first part of your KWU email (for instance, john.doe) and your email password.

Fines
The library does not charge late fines for KWU students. However, you are charged for a replacement if you lose a book or DVD. If you borrow items from the Salina Public Library, you are subject to their fines for late returns.

Where is Memorial Library located?
Memorial Library is located at 100 E. Claflin Avenue across the street (south) from University United Methodist Church. The building is east of the circle drive and west of the Student Activities Center. Click here for a campus map.

What are the Library’s hours?
Memorial Library is open when classes are in session for Fall and Spring semesters:
Monday – Thursday 7:45 AM to 11:00 PM
Friday – 7:45 AM to 5:00 PM
Saturday – 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM
Sunday – 2:00 PM to 11:00 PM

During the summer, our hours are:
Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

The library will be closed for federal holidays. Please check the main library page for specific hours, especially between semesters and summer sessions.

When is a Reference librarian available to help me?
Generally the library is staffed by a professional librarian between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Mondays -Thursdays and between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on Fridays. You can email Dr. Mirtz with a question at ruth.mirtz@kwu.edu.

How do I access the KWU databases off campus?
To access the databases, provide your KWU email account information when prompted, using only the first part of your KWU email (for instance, john.doe). If you do not have a KWU email account, click here to send the IS department a request for an account. Access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff only.

Does the Library charge fines for overdue materials?
The library does not charge fines for overdue materials during the semester unless the materials have been borrowed from another library. The charge for overdue Interlibrary Loan materials is $1 per book per day. Items kept past the end of the semester incur a $20 fine for each item. If an item is permanently lost, a charge to replace the book or DVD is assessed to the student’s account. Transcripts will not be sent and students cannot enroll in classes until all financial obligations to the university have been met.

Can I borrow a book from another library?
Yes. Please use our Interlibrary Loan service to request a book from another library.  There is no cost to receive an article or a book from another library. However, if the materials are returned to Memorial Library after the due date, a fine may be assessed.

I’m not a student at KWU, but I’d like to check out books. Can I get a library card?
All community members are welcome at Kansas Wesleyan University. Because Memorial Library and the Salina Public Library share a catalog, a valid Salina Public Library card in good standing may be used at Memorial Library to check out items.

Can I access the Internet in the library?
Yes, Internet access is available from Memorial Library from any library computer or through KWU's wireless network.

Are there any Internet restrictions at KWU?
Pornography or pornographic materials are not allowed. Please consult the Student Handbook for more information.

Are food or drinks allowed in the library?
Drinks in covered containers and small snacks are allowed in the library. Please do not disturb other students with your food.

How can I access the library’s card catalog?
The library’s card catalog can be accessed in two ways. Access is available on the desktop of the computers in the library or over the Internet from the library’s homepage at KWU’s Online Catalog. Click here to access the online catalog.

Does the library have a copier or scanner?
Memorial Library has a scanner available so that you can scan to your email and then print from our computers. Scanning is free to your email. Copies can be made only with a KWU copy card. The library does not provide copy cards.

Does the library have a printer?
Memorial Library has a black and white laser printer, located on the first floor of the library. Printing is free to all KWU students. Community users are asked to limit printing to 10 pages.

Does the library have study rooms available to students?
The second floor of Memorial Library has two study rooms. One room seats 1-4 people. The second study room can seat a group of 6 and has a TV/DVD/VCR player.

Does the library own DVDs or CDs?
Memorial Library has an extensive collection of  DVDs. All users can check out DVDs for a one-week period with a valid KWU library card.

My professor placed an item on reserve. Can I check out this item?
The professor who has placed an item on reserve sets the checkout limits. Most items can be checked out for 2 hours and do not leave the library. If an item cannot leave the library or is "In-library use only," the material can be scanned and then printed. To protect the author(s) and publisher from copyright violations, only one copy of any item can be made for the same individual.

Catalog sharing and collaboration with Salina Public Library

The KWU Memorial Library shares its online catalog with the Salina Public Library. This expands a number of services for both libraries.

  • Users may choose to search the catalog of only Memorial Library, only the Salina Public Library, or both.
  • KWU students may use their KWU ID card as their library card at both libraries, but will be subject to the individual check-out policies at each library.
  • Salina Public Library patrons may use their Salina Public Library card at Memorial Library, but will be subject to the individual check-out policies at each library.
  • Issues such as fines for late items or lost items must be addressed with the check-out library. 
  • Library patrons may also place a “hold” on an available item in the catalog, and specify whether they will pick the item up at Memorial Library or Salina Public Library. A courier runs between the libraries most weekdays.
  • Material checked out at either library may be returned to either library.

The Kansas Wesleyan University Archives are located in the library. Assistance is available between 8 AM - 5 PM Monday through Friday, when a librarian is present.

The archive at KWU is a closed collection. Items in the archives do not circulate. If a patron requests materials, we will make a determination if those materials can be handled directly by the patron or if we will be able to scan or copy the requested material for the patron. We do request that you use cotton gloves (provided) when handling most items in the archives. Most yearbooks are available for viewing by patrons. A microfilm copy of the older student newspapers is also available for patrons.

Currently, the archives are still in the process of being identified and cataloged. It is best to contact a librarian with the nature of your search request prior to visiting the archives:

          Phone:     (785) 833-4395

          Email:       library@kwu.edu

          Address:  KWU Memorial Library – Archives

                         Campus Box 60

                         100 E. Claflin

                         Salina, KS 67401

The Memorial Library Policy Manual states that community patrons are welcome to use the library only during normal business hours, generally 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. Visits to the library are limited to 2 hours per day. Community patrons are not allowed in the library at any other time, during evenings, or on weekends.

Anyone who is not a student, faculty, or staff member at KWU is required to sign an agreement that outlines the rules and to sign in and out of the library with each visit.

Community patrons must limit their printing to 10 pages per visit. We do not accept money in exchange for copies. If you need to make more than 10 pages, please use the Salina Public Library or use one of Salina's printing services.

In addition, the librarians are not available to help with many technology questions that community patrons may have. Please consult the Salina Public Library, which has a robust program of technology help sessions.

If you are interested in using our library, please contact the director, Ruth Mirtz, for more information at ruth.mirtz@kwu.edu.

Loading

Where is it?

Study rooms -- 2nd floor
Curriculum Collection (K-12 textbooks and materials) -- 2nd floor
Government Documents -- 2nd floor
VHS -- 2nd floor
Books (regular non-fiction) -- 2nd floor
New DVDs (around 2011 and newer) -- 1st floor, next to the circulation desk
Older DVDs -- 1st floor, south wall
Magazines -- 1st floor
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias -- 2nd floor, Reference section on far west side (books are marked R)
Academic Journals in print -- 2nd floor, past the Reference books, far west side. Arranged alphabetically by title.
Reserves -- ask at the circulation desk
Newspapers -- 1st floor
Archives -- 1st floor, but you must request materials and a librarian will retrieve them

Photo Tour

Curriculum Collection --2nd floor

K-12 textbooks and materials

Reading area -- 1st floor

Relax and read magazines and newspapers here.

Newer DVDs -- 1st floor by the circulation desk

Take a break and watch a new DVD.

Reference -- 2nd floor

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Primary Sources

Study Rooms -- 2nd floor

Study Rooms have tables, chairs, and VHS players

Microfilm and Microfiche -- 2nd floor

New York Times and Salina Journal are available on microfilm

Print Journals -- 2nd Floor

Check for the latest issue of our current subscriptions here.

Albert Nelson Student Success Center -- 1st floor

Free tutoring and academic assistance

New Circulation Desks

The old counter is gone!

Children's Collection

New location on 2nd floor!