Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Memorial Library: Home

Library Hours

Fall 2021

First Two Weeks (8/4-8/13)
M-F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Regular Hours (8/15-11/28)
Su: 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM
M-Th: 7:45 AM - 11:00 PM
F: 7:45 AM - 4:00 PM

Closed:  
All Saturdays

Labor Day (9/6)
Thanksgiving (11/24 - 11/26)
Christmas (12/24 - 12/31)

Off-Campus Help

Virtual assistance:

Monitored during regular library hours

Phone:  785-833-4395

Text:  785-333-3038

Email:  library@kwu.edu

Quick Links to Resources

Flipster

Browse the full collection of magazine titles

Library Jobs

Applications for Library Assistants are accepted year-round, but most positions are filled at the beginning of each semester (Fall & Spring).  All applicants must qualify for Federal Work Study.

Search for books, DVDs, & more:

 

 

https://kwu.bywatersolutions.com

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, ETC.

STREAMING VIDEOS

VIEWPOINTS / PROS & CONS

SPANISH LANGUAGE RESOURCES

To access databases from off-campus:

When prompted, use your KWU userid (the first part of your KWU email, such as john.doe) and your email password. This is not the same as your MyKWU log in, and may not be the same as your Canvas login.  

We suggest using the General Databases (listed above in the "Articles-General Databases" tab) first and then moving on to the appropriate Research Guide to find the best databases and websites to use for your specific topic. Choose a guide related to the course or the topic you are researching.

Online citation help is also still available (as below).

Other e-Books & online content
 
JSTOR
JSTOR has a large amount of open source academic content that is always available, including journal articles and book chapters.
 

Help is available! Don’t hesitate to ask a question or discuss a research problem with the librarians. We love questions!

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books and articles that we don't have at KWU.

Use our Request Form.

The Kansas Library Catalog is an online catalog containing books, magazines/journals articles, videos, audiocassettes, microforms available from public, school, and academic libraries from across Kansas.

Through the OCLC/WorldCat system it is possible to borrow books, magazines/journals articles, videos, audiocassettes, microforms from across the United States.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Please allow 1-2 weeks for an interlibrary loan item. We will notify you when it arrives. We reserve the right to charge a fine of $1/day for an overdue interlibrary loan item.  Users are responsible for replacement costs of any lost/damaged item.

We are not able to process student requests for current textbooks or required course materials.

• For more information or questions please contact Megan Mack (785-833-4397 / megan.mack@kwu.edu).

More Library Resources

Check out a book? Bring your student ID and the item to the circulation desk and the librarian will check it out to you.

My instructor put it on reserve? The reserve materials are held behind the circulation desk, so you have to ask for an item. Bring the instructor's name and the title of the book or DVD with you. Reserve items often do NOT leave the library, but you can scan pages and print them.

Gadgets for checkout? Calculators, external DVD drives, flashdrives (USBs), headphones

Scan something? Use the scanner by the restrooms. Ask for help at the circulation desk or use the printed instructions next to the scanner.

Watch a DVD? Ask for external DVD drive and headphones at the circulation desk. Free earbuds are also available.

Watch a VHS? The VHS player is in the large study room on 2nd floor. Ask for help if you've never used a VHS player before.

Free stuff? Cookies, coffee, snacks, pens, pencils, wifi, printing, scanning, and much MORE!

More policies available at Memorial Library--FAQ and Policies.
Beverages and small snacks are allowed in the library.

Students:
Book Checkout--28 days, can renew most books
DVDs: 1 week, can renew
Reserves: Varies from 2 hours to 1 week
No overdue fines, but will be charged to replace lost items

Faculty:
Book Checkout--1 year
DVDs: 1 week, can renew
No overdue fines; replacement costs vary

Interlibrary Loan:
Checkout for books is generally 3-4 weeks, but check the ILL sleeve for the exact due date. Overdue fines may be $1/day.

Use a Research Guide geared toward your topic.

Video--Library Introduction for KWU Memorial Library -- https://youtu.be/Ohdcgpjy-8c

Other Videos from our vendors:

EBSCO databases
LexisNexis Video Tutorial
CQ Researcher Video Tutorial
ProQuest video

Make the most of your online courses by using our online library resources and help services!

Access: Your KWU userid and password (the first part of your KWU email, such as john.doe, and your email password) give you access to all of the online research materials at Memorial Library.

Use the Guides to find the best databases and websites to use. Choose a guide related to the course or the topic you are researching.

Use the databases to find articles.

Use the catalog to find print books, ebooks, and DVDs. Ebooks are electronic books available online with your KWU access.

Request Print Materials: Print Materials are also available to you as an online learner. If you live more than 30 miles from the KWU campus, we are happy to mail you any print sources, such as books and DVDs. Request print materials by emailing us at library@kwu.edu. Send us your mailing address and as much information as you can about the book or DVD: title, authors or actors, year published or produced, publisher or production company, and which course you need it for.

Online Help is available! Don’t hesitate to ask a question or discuss a research problem with the librarians. We love questions!

  • Video Tutorials: Click here.
  • Phone, text, email, chat are all available (see "Off-campus help" box at the top of left column)

Online students are always welcome in our physical library, too. Come and use our facility whenever you can. Find Memorial Library on the campus map.

All community members are welcome at Kansas Wesleyan University. Because Memorial Library and the Salina Public Library share a catalog, a valid Salina Public Library card in good standing may be used at Memorial Library to check out items.

Guests who want to use computers or to study at Memorial Library on a regular basis are required to follow the rules and policies set by the Director of the Library. Please register at the circulation desk to sign the guest user agreement on your first visit.

Recently Added

Librarian

The librarian is available from Sunday through Thursday, 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM.           
                          
Megan Mack
Student Success Librarian 

Interim Director of Library Services                                  

megan.mack@kwu.edu  
                         
785-833-4397 

Suggestion Box