LibGuides: Writing Studies: Home

Databases -- shortcuts

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly collection spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, womens studies, and many other fields. 13,000 journals abstracted and indexed. Over 8,750 full-text journals. Updated daily. Coverage: 1887 - present.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, religion, literature, and other subjects. Content: Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text. Coverage: 1901 - present.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Provides research needs across all academic disciplines including humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Contains peer-reviewed academic journals as well as news magazines and newspapers.Coverage: 1980 - present.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research. Explore a range of topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests such as Careers, Computers and Technology, Education, Health, History, News and Current Events, Personal Finance and Taxes, Self-Help/Self-Improvement
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, and social sciences.

Sample Articles about Writing

"Draft No. 4" by John McPhee

Revising a (Writer's) Life: Writing with Disability

Do Good Stories Produce Good Health?

"Writing Toward Readers' Better Health" (writing online health info)

Pain and Pleasure in Short Essay Writing: Factors Predicting University Students' Writing Anxiety and Writing Self-Efficacy

We Learn What We Do: Developing a Repertoire of Writing Practices in an Instant-Messaging World

Fan fiction online: engagement, critical response and affective play through writing

BROWSE journals:

Written Language and Literacy (through EBSCO)

Writer's Digest (through Gale)

Writer (through EBSCO, only available in full text through 2012)

Kairos (free online, one of the first online journals)

Community Literacy Journal (free online--be aware that its homepage appears to be "Open Journal System")

Computers and Composition Online

Harlot: A Revealing Look at the Arts of Persuasion

JAC Online

Journal of Writing Research

Currents in Electronic Literacy

Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of over 440 mass media and communication journals with selective coverage of 200 more. Coverage: To the present with major journals full-text back as far as 1915.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, religion, literature, and other subjects. Content: Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text. Coverage: 1901 - present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly collection spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, womens studies, and many other fields. 13,000 journals abstracted and indexed. Over 8,750 full-text journals. Updated daily. Coverage: 1887 - present.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Provides research needs across all academic disciplines including humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Contains peer-reviewed academic journals as well as news magazines and newspapers.Coverage: 1980 - present.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, and social sciences.

KEYWORDS: authorship, writing, written communication, rhetoric, argument

SPECIALIZED DATABASE: CompPile

CompPile is an intensively composition- and rhetoric-based database. Many of the articles will be about teaching or highly technical. There is very little full-text attached, so be prepared to allow time to make Interlibrary Loan requests for these articles.

Books on Writing

From Chariots of Fire to the King's Speech by Alan Rosenthal
Publication Date: 2014
The Fan Fiction Studies Reader by Karen Hellekson (Editor); Kristina Busse (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
The Virtues of Poetry by James Longenbach
Publication Date: 2013
The Best Writing on Mathematics 2010 by Mircea Pitici (Editor); William P. Thurston (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2011
2012 Writer's Market by Robert Lee Brewer (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Section
Publication Date: 2011
The Yahoo! Style Guide by Yahoo! Inc Staff; Chris Barr (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
A Guide to Writing Sociology Papers by Judith Richlin-Klonsky; Ellen Strenski; Roseann Giarrusso; William G. Roy; Sociology Writing Group Staff
Publication Date: 2007
4 A. M. Breakthrough by Brian Kiteley
Publication Date: 2009
Writing under Pressure by Sanford Kaye
Publication Date: 1988
Writers at work : the Paris review interviews by Cowley, Malcolm