LibGuides: Faculty Resources -- Professional Development: Open Access Resources

Open Access Resources

BCcampus OpenEd
BCcampus OpenEd provides open access textbooks works out of Vancouver, British Columbia and provides 143 textbooks in a number of subject areas.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Faculty Select This link opens in a new window
Through a single interface, faculty can search and access quality open textbooks, Open Educational Resources (OER), EBSCO’s eBook Open Access (OA) Collection and request access to unrestricted library e-books from top academic publishers. By leveraging free open materials and low-cost library-licensed resources, faculty can transform their courses and reduce the cost burden for students.
Provides two types of e-books: 1) Free OER eBooks with a direct URL; and, 2) DRM-free e-books that the library can purchase and make available through our catalog.

Feature Films - Internet Archive
Feature films, shorts, silent films and trailers are available for viewing and downloading.
Khan Academy
An online learning environment that contains practice exercises and instructional videos covering math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.
Knowledge Unlatched
Scholarly open access books and journals available for download.
MERLOT II
From California State University, MERLOT consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages. All materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection.
MIT OpenCourseware
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content.
National Academies Press
This is the publishing arm of the National Academy of Sciences. It provides free downloads for most NAP books and reports, if you create a free account with their system.
New Prairie Press
Kansas State University's open access scholarly publishing.
Open Access Books on Writing
From WAC Clearinghouse - more than 70 books are available and additional books are in production. All books are available for free viewing and/or download.
Open Book Publishers
Founded by academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers offers academic books at little to no cost. Books on this site are utilized in over 200 countries around the world.
OpenStax Connexions
Contains educational content to improve learning outcomes. There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device.
Open Textbook Library
Provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Hosted by the University of Minnesota.
PDXScholar - Open Access Textbooks
Open access textbooks written by the faculty of Portland State University. Topics include: Architecture, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine & Health Sciences, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
TED Talks
Short (18 mins. or less) videos on a variety of topics.

Websites

Arts and Letters Daily
A compilation of timely popular, creative, and scholarly sources, all openly available online.
JSTOR Daily
A scholarly news portal that provide links to free-access scholarly journals in JSTOR.
National Archives
Access to government documents.
Retro Reports
New York Times -- articles and videos that reexamine the continuing impact of past events.
Smithsonian Museum
Major research centers in science, the arts, and the humanities.

Using KWU databases as OER

Any article in our subscribed databases can be used as required reading for students, as a link posted in the LMS.
Always test a link on a non-university computer or over the wifi to make sure students can access the article.
As a backup, provide enough information so that students can navigate to the article (title of article, name of database, etc.)

EBSCO databases: Use the "permalink" provided or the URL.

Gale databases: Use the URL provided at the bottom of the full-text page.

ProQuest: Use the "Document URL" at the bottom of the full-text pages