Business

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

U.S. Census Bureau - Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.

U.S. Dept. of Commerce - Provides a quantitative view of national, regional, industry, and international economic data.

U.S. Dept. of Labor - The principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. The next one is scheduled for 2017, but data will not be publicly available for a while.

This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

Banking and monetary statistics, Economic indicators, Business-cycle developments, etc.

Country reports and data for economics and business.

This website contains financial, economic, and alternative datasets.

States & Local Areas. Downloadable data covering: Agriculture; Banking & Finance; Births, Deaths, Marriages, & Divorces; Crime; Education; Elections; Energy, Utilities, & Natural Resources; Firms & Economy; Government & Taxation; Health; Housing; Income, Earnings, & Payroll; Labor Force; Leisure & Travel; Population; Science, Technology, & Information; Social Insurance & Human Services; Transportation; Wholesale trade, Retail trade, & Manufacturing

Defines business terms.

Defines terms used by accountants and financial analysts.

Free membership registration. Provides tax and accounting related news and editorial analysis. Includes a daily newswire, daily columns, and Podcasts of interviews with leaders in the accounting profession.

Includes accounting news, jobs, articles.

Information regarding monetary policies affecting regional banks.

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

"The largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,300,000 items of research, including over 2,000,000 that can be downloaded in full text."

St. Louis Fed's educational portal explaining "the back story on front page economics."

From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers.

Extensive guide of economics-related information on the web. Sponsored by the American Economics Association and edited by Bill Goffe.

Economic information on developing countries.

A federal, centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire.

The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Knowing the NAICS number of your industry can make your research easier and faster. NAICS replaced the Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC), though you will still find SIC codes in some databases.

A volunteer organization providing one-on-one mentoring for new entrepreneurs by successful small business owners. They also provide workshops, and the website includes how-to guides.

Provides information on starting, financing, and managing a small business.

Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Kauffman Foundation and the Minority Business Development Agency.

Financial information.

A glossary of finance terms collected by Duke University professor Campbell R. Harvey.

Personal finance, real estate, business news, etc.

Investopedia provides information on investing and allows users to look at it based on where they are in their investing life: as a beginner, experienced investor, active trader or preparing for retirement. There are tutorials, an investment game, a dictionary, research material and more.

From the Wall Street Journal -- Business news, financial information, and analytical tools.

Personal financial information, investing, etc.

Features stock quotes, analysis, financials, company news, market information as well as investing tools and guides.

Market reports and data.

Americans with Disabilities Act

Provides information on employment law including policies and forms, articles on national and state laws, access to court cases, and federal laws and regulations.

A good source for locating laws and regulations relating to workplace discrimination and proposed regulations.

Their mission: to "provide links to other websites in the HR field; provide free web-based computer programs for HR professionals and students; and
provide guides to HR related topics

A dynamic list of over 5,000 Web sites for HR professionals. All sites researched and qualified by Cornell University School of Industrial and Labor Relations.

U.S. Department of Labor

U.S. Department of Labor's resource for Labor-Management Standards laws.

The principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

Top practical resource for human resource professionals. This will keep you up-to-date with the latest issues, cutting edge research, and best practices.

Covers the entire collection of issued patents and patent applications made available by the USPTO, from patents issued in the 1790s through the present. Does not include international patents.

Links to international and foreign organizations for those who wish to seek protection for their intellectual property beyond the borders of the United States, as well as for those non-US customers who wish to seek patent or trademark protection in the United States.

Official website, includes copyright records, laws, regulations and policy.

Includes links to wide variety of tools, electronic filing system, image database, laws, regulations, policies and procedures, electronic business center, and news.

Links to news, Madrid Protocol, tools including the Trademark Electronic Search System, manuals, guides, official gazette, laws and regulations.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system.

Compares business regulations across nations (by The World Bank).

Export and international trade information for U.S. businesses who want to go global.

An international business and country studies site, from Michigan State University.

Data and reports on entrepreneurial activity and attitudes across 100 countries and 16 years.

Resources for research in business ethics and social responsibility.

"The International Journal of Leadership Studies (IJLS) is a refereed scholarly [open access] journal that exists to provide a forum for leadership scholars within the U.S. and around the world."

Images and information for advertisements printed between 1911 and 1955 provided by Duke University's John W. Harlman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.

Duke University's digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.

Provides access to the Consumer Expenditure Survey and the Consumer American Time Use Survey. The Consumer Expenditure Survey measures the spending habits of U.S. consumers and includes data on their expenditures, income, and characteristics. The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

From e-commerce Times, with recent articles related to all things e-marketing.

Economy, education, environment, health, politics, science, technology, lifestyles.

"A Watershed Publishing website and newsletter published daily to serve the needs of marketing professionals looking for the latest trends and data."

"An opinionated & independent trend agency, scans the globe for the most promising consumer trends, insights & related hands-on business ideas."