LibGuides: Newspapers: Home

Current Subscriptions -- Today's News

Databases
Print Copies in the Library

InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Users can search for articles by newspaper title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.
Newsbank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find tutorials on using Newsbank at http://vimeopro.com/newsbank/kansas-wesleyan-university
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full-text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Also contains over 902,000 television and radio news transcripts with video and podcasts to be added. Coverage: 1985 - present.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis) This link opens in a new window
Business (company & industry information, news), criminal justice, political science and legal codes and laws

Current print copies of these newspapers are on 1st floor of Memorial Library:

Wall Street Journal (the last 4-5 days)

USA Today (the last 4-5 days)

Salina Journal (last 3 months--ask for older copies at the circulation desk)

Kansas City Star Sunday edition (only available until December 2014)

Some of our oldest newspapers are available on microfilm at Memorial Library. Ask for help finding the microfilm and using the microfilm reader to read, scan, and save newspaper articles.

Salina Daily Journal -- March 1887- May1888

Salina Daily Republican -- Nov. 1885- Aug.1887, Dec.1888-Aug.1894

Salina Daily Republican Journal -- Nov. 1885-Feb. 1903

Salina Journal -- 1951-current

New York Times -- Jan 1920 to Dec. 2000

Radical Abolitionist -- 1855-1858

Voice of the Negro -- 1904-1907

Congressional Globe -- 1833-1873

Copies of Wesleyan Advance are in the Memorial Library Archives. Please make an appointment to retrieve them:

Kansas Wesleyan Advance -- Oct, 1892-May 1906, July 1907-May 1915, Jan. 1931-May 1938.

Chronicling America
From the Library of Congress -- Includes American newspapers from 1836-1922.
Kansas Digital Newspapers
From the Kansas State Historical Society -- newspapers from around Kansas, some dating back to 1850s. Use the link and scroll down to "verify" to sign in with your Kansas drivers license.